Monday, December 8, 2014

RECORD REVIEW: The Supercats "A Very Super Christmas Vol. II"

A Very Super Christmas 
Vol. II
Ah yes, this record is truly 
a heart-warming holiday 
treasure — snappy 
Christmas collection 
created for people who
don't dig Christmas records.

Florida's award-wining indie pop / rock combo, The Supercats, return this month with their first new holiday release in five years — and it's a tasty treat, indeed.

The "Cats" kick the record off in a fun and festive fashion with the tried and true seasonal favorite, "Santa Claus is Coming to Town." Frontchick / guitarist Simone Star's eggnog-soaked vocal combined with keyboardist Bryan Kezer's cocktail lounge production make for an engaging intro that segues quickly into a more super-charged, go-go pop arrangement — a high-energy highlight, to be sure.

By smearing their unique artistic fingerprints all over "Wonderful Christmastime," the band transforms Paul McCartney's classic 1979 stinker successfully into a bona fide 2014 winner. Well done kids now it doesn't suck anymore!

The 1950 standard, "Silver Bells" oozes such warm gospel authenticity and charm that you can easily picture "brother" Ray Charles banging away in the background as a traditional church choir offers praises from behind the pulpit — this one's a real gem. Additional kudos are also due to drummer Daniel Lunde for keeping it all nicely in the pocket.

While The Supercats' remake of Eartha Kitt's "Santa Baby" is a smooth and sultry delight, the band's techno-fueled version of "Joy to the World" is a slick-sounding, modern-day reminder that Jesus IS the reason for the season   BRAVO!

-Christopher Long
(December 2014)



Stream it on 
SoundCloud / YouTube

Download it FREE from

Find and "Follow" 
The Supercats:

The latest from author Christopher Long
is available NOW on Amazon.

Also from Christopher Long...
Get it on Amazon.

No comments:

Post a Comment